RUM
Department of Chemical Engineering
 
University of Puerto Rico – Mayagüez
SLOAN MPHD program


MISSION: The purpose of the Sloan MPHD (Minority Ph.D.) program is to assist efforts to diversify the U.S. Ph.D. degree-holding workforce by increasing the recruitment, retention, and graduation of underrepresented doctoral students in STEM, especially in fields where national trends document persistent underrepresentation. A secondary aim is to change the demographics of STEM faculty in U.S. colleges and universities by paying special attention to the preparation of doctoral students from underrepresented minorities (URM) for careers in academia.

VISION: The ultimate goal of the Sloan MPHD program is to change the U.S. STEM workforce (academic, corporate, governmental, NGO) so that its demographic characteristics are representative of the entire U.S. population, closing the achievement gaps that exist between the majority and underrepresented minority populations in STEM.

List of SLOAN scholars in ChE department:

Name Email At UPR Since
Misael Diaz Maldonado misael.diaz@upr.edu 2000
Darlene Z. Galloza Lorenzo darlene.galloza@upr.edu 2002
Yohaselly Santiago Rodriguez yohaselly.santiago@upr.edu 2004
Ariangeli Ortiz Negron ariangeli.ortiz@upr.edu 2005
Daniel Mateo Ortiz daniel.mateo@upr.edu 2004
Maritza Perez Perez maritza.perez@upr.edu 2006